Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Boosting 2016 Tacoma ?

lamia2super

Reaction score
With Sema around the corner I was wondering if anyone is or could be boosting the 2016 model.

Reaction score
How hard will this new motor be to work on? I'm a noob, and I find the 4.0 is real easy to work on.

Gadget

Reaction score
There is a good bit of difference, mostly in the fueling of it.

It has 12 fuel injectors, 6 port and 6 direct injectors. I do not understand why Toyota takes this approach when others just use direct injectors. Must be a good reason.

It does complicate control, the ports are used for low speed operation and the direct injectors are used for power. The on/off switching between the two is likely to be the complication for taking control away from the stock ECU.

There is also two different fuel systems, low and high pressure. The good thing is that the ECU monitors the pressure and controls the pressure of the two systems so we can likely take control of that as well.

The cylinder heads have just one exhaust port instead of three.

I still have not seen any of these trucks in my area yet. Hopefully soon.

G

Torspd

Staff member
Reaction score
Build it then boost it Gadget!

lamia2super

Reaction score
There is a good bit of difference, mostly in the fueling of it.

It has 12 fuel injectors, 6 port and 6 direct injectors. I do not understand why Toyota takes this approach when others just use direct injectors. Must be a good reason.

It does complicate control, the ports are used for low speed operation and the direct injectors are used for power. The on/off switching between the two is likely to be the complication for taking control away from the stock ECU.