Shane's URD MRKlll++ supercharger Build

Discussion in 'Member Builds' started by shane881510, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. shane881510

    shane881510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    12
    who has the urd system and how do u like it and what other
    mods do u have with it.
     
  2. scoutdeed69

    scoutdeed69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.xr-underground.com/vb3/showthread.php?t=49762 here u go on my build!

    Its a great setup....like anything you must install...must fabricate here and there...but not a extreme amount!...i got about 7500 miles on the kit! lots of power for a truck....wish i had more but that's in the near future! realy haven't added any thing to it...but what all G. man gave me....for the stage III kit..... the s/c is quite...should have talk to G. man, to see if they had a noiser s/c with the same size compressor!

    Rob
     
  3. shane881510

    shane881510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    12
    when u first installed it. was it jumpy and wouldn't take fuel an sputters. I frigured the ucon was still learning.
     
  4. justin13703

    justin13703 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    9
    No they don't have a noisier supercharger. The rotrex units are made to be quiet. It's not a screw or lobe type so you won't get the kind of noise out of it that they make. Honestly I prefer the sound of my rotrex to the Trd. The high pitch whistle it makes and the bypass valve is an awesome thing lol
     
  5. Torspd

    Torspd Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14,796
    Likes Received:
    38
    Sounds like you have some sort of problem. Have you contacted Gadget?
     
  6. RRX

    RRX New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the MRKIII stage 3 and love it. I have never had any problems. On my dyno day I was pushing 483hp and 445 tq. I plan to go well above the 500 mark after I get my engine build done. All my mods are in the my mod list.

    But if you are having some kind of problem you need to go to G not the Fourm. G is well help you figure out what is going on and make you happy.
     
    #6 RRX, Apr 4, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  7. shane881510

    shane881510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    12
    yea got a cel both banks were lean. it acts like it don't wanna take fuel and hiccups. I'm waiting on g to up link and data log to see what's up.. seems to not be getting enough fuel..
     
  8. Torspd

    Torspd Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14,796
    Likes Received:
    38
    You have vacuum leaks? Sounds like it
     
  9. shane881510

    shane881510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    12
    as far as i know i dont have no leaks, ive went over all vaccum lines, hose clamps everything i can see or reach other the hood...
     
  10. shane881510

    shane881510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    12
    set the rev limit down to 5800 and now boost gauge reads 11psi at 5800. when before it only went to 10psi at 6200. is this normal.
     
  11. Super Werty

    Super Werty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    boost numbers vary with weather and elevation.... Was it colder recently... Also could just be the gauge. I would look at ur data logs and check out the maf g/s
     
  12. scoutdeed69

    scoutdeed69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    well it did seem like it did...I did go by G instructions...on how long to run it...then check every thing installed for leaks...then start it again to get the coolant to bleed correctly, but as for the fuel...i don't believe i had an issue with that at all....i did keep it at very low rpm n boost until the computer learn what it needed...once i pushed it more...few days later one of my intercooler piping poped off, then i had a running issue thats how i found the problem when i had to install the Stage II kit...i called G about the problem....and i told him what happen...He looked in his stock of piping and had them refixed of that problem. But over all not realy any problems...until i fixed my piping!

    Rob


     
  13. shane881510

    shane881510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    12
    yea I had the pipes blow off a few times. I hate it. stupid clamps. going upgrade with the t bolt clamps. what is the black bypass from the charge pipe going back to the air box for what does it do.
     
  14. Torspd

    Torspd Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14,796
    Likes Received:
    38
    Sounds like a recirculation hose. Need to ask Gadget.

    Clampco T-bolt clamps. Best.
     
  15. butters607

    butters607 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Love it and I got pretty much every mod you can have with it on stock motor....
     
  16. Gadget

    Gadget Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    10,769
    Likes Received:
    65
    URD had a batch of MAF pipes where the end at the throttle body was not bead rolled like it should of been. This cause some of the of the couplers to slip off. This has been fixed.

    T-bolt clamps are not needed. The thing to do is to wipe the end of the pipes clean and clean the couplers and the nice liner clamps we ship in the kits are more than sufficient.

    G
     
  17. scoutdeed69

    scoutdeed69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Gadget....when i was working up in Columbia....I had 1st hand at that part of the pipe pop off...i fixed the other end like you told me too...but man i took off to cross a street and the darn pipe poped off and i lost total power..and the vehicle shut off on me and scard the sh** out of me....I thought i had blown the motor...but unfortently i saw the pipe was off...and i fixed that...i was so happy that was the propblem!

    Rob
     
  18. shane881510

    shane881510 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    12
    most of my problems I wasn't tightening the clamps enough from fear of stripping the clamps.
     
  19. Torspd

    Torspd Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14,796
    Likes Received:
    38
    Not a big deal if you actually do strip a worn gear. They are easy to come by.
     
  20. Gadget

    Gadget Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    10,769
    Likes Received:
    65
    I use an 8mm socket on a 1/4" ratchet to snug mine up. Nut driver type screw drivers work well, but I keep loosing those.

    Flat screw drivers suck.

    G
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    XR-Underground is a dedicated community of Toyota X-Runner enthusiasts that was launched in January 2007. X-Runner Underground.com, referred to as XRU by our regular members, offers an active discussion forum, group events, specialty merchandise, a welcoming community of owners and the most information you can find about the Toyota X-Runner on the internet!
  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Your donations keep XRU going

    XRU is a forum for the users, by the users. We receive very limited funding from vendors so we really rely on donations to cover our operating costs and to provide products and giveaways at events. Every dollar helps!

    If you are able to donate, we'd really appreciate your help.