Xrunner ECM

Discussion in 'N/A Mods & Tuning' started by Bang Bang, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. Bang Bang

    Bang Bang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone ever had to replace their trucks ECM for any reason?
     
  2. justin13703

    justin13703 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    14
    If I remember correctly the only way to do it is to have the dealership do it. You can't simply throw one from another truck in
     
  3. Bang Bang

    Bang Bang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I've been messing with the truck for over a month now. Truck first threw bank 1 sensor 1 code so I replaced this then it started sputtering if I went into any kind of boost. After talking with Scott and getting retune with new software truck was doing the same so as recommended I replaced all O2 and A/F sensors, new tune and still a sputter under boost. So I sent in the ucon to URD and spoke with Gadget. He tested it and all was good. I got it back and now truck would run rough at idle and throw a check engine light immediately after start up. After resetting the ecu multiple times and hooking up with scott per laptop we found cly#5 was dead so I pulled all the plugs and ran compression check. All clys were right at 155psi. So I replaced all the plugs and still the sputter. Turned out to be cly#5 coil pack so I ordered one and replaced with stock denso. After this the truck cleared up and ran like it hadn't in a while. Anyways that day I drove it in to work and upon the drive home I noticed the check engine light came back on. Well, I went out of town the next day and while on hiatus I bought a code reader from harbor freight. So, I get back last night and this morning I check the code and it was bank 1 sensor 2 high voltage code # whatever... didn't write it down. So, I go to crank the truck and now its running rough again and the O2 code is gone and now I have p0355 Ignition Coil E Primary/Secondary Circuit so I pull the cly#5 coil and no change. I swapped the coil with a different one and plug and still same code after clearing and disconnecting battery and disconnecting grounds and reattaching at the cylinder heads and battery. Almost over. Is this the computer or possibly wire harness? Im ready to take it in to the dealer and let them have a go at it. Sorry for the long read but just wanted to let you guys know the back story. Im ready to drop some serious cash on this truck and get it to what I want it to be but first I need to get it running properly. Should I take it to the dealer and have them test the ECU? I know their gona give me crap about all the after market parts on the truck.
     
  4. Torspd

    Torspd Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14,814
    Likes Received:
    51
    Do you have stock injectors still, and/in the engine right now?
     
  5. NHXRUNNER

    NHXRUNNER "New Hampster"
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    262
    Did you have the TRD Reflash before the UCON? What pulley are you running? Do you have the TRD Injectors? I wouldn't dare take the truck to the dealer with the UCON on there. They'll blame everything on it and wash their hands.
     
  6. justin13703

    justin13703 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah I was gonna say that too. The dealer will be an absolute waste of time and money. If you so much as have an aftermarket radio in that thing they will blame all your problems on that and then charge you a stupid amount of money. Don't waste your time
     
  7. Torspd

    Torspd Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14,814
    Likes Received:
    51
    I didn't read your mods, but if you have the reflash, and TRD injectors, try running the truck without the UCON. See how it runs.
     
  8. Bang Bang

    Bang Bang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the re-flash. I did run it before without the ucon to see what it would do before I replaced all the plugs and the one coil pack. It still ran rough. I will unhook the ucon and see what happens in the morning. I don't think it would be that bad actually if I took it to them. I may be wrong. Its not like I have a warranty anyways. They might like to see something interesting come in besides all the oil changes, tire rotates and brake jobs.
     
  9. SooRunner

    SooRunner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who installed your supercharger? Have you serviced your truck at the dealer? Maybe they reflashed your ecu without letting you kno?

    I was getting service letter about the floor carpet and ecu re-flash every now and then but I refuse to bring my truck to the stealership. I guarantee you some one will mash your truck when they test drive it, hopefully they will blow it up so you get a new X-Runner. :D
     
  10. TRON

    TRON Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    3
    ^^^ I agree... and get the trd reflash while you're at the dealership
     
  11. Bang Bang

    Bang Bang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the supercharger and no I don't think they flashed it without me knowing it. Only thing I've had it there for was a couple of oil changes. As long as the problem gets fixed I don't care if they burn the tires. Needs new ones anyway. They wont have too much fun cause the transmission is crap. I just need to get past this so I can do some major overhauling.
     
  12. Bang Bang

    Bang Bang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I re cleaned all the grounds that I could find. the two on the back of bank 1, one next to the power steering fluid reservoir, one next to the battery and the neg battery terminal. Truck would run ok it seemed for a few seconds at a time and then miss again. Same code for cly#5 would come up. I then shut it down, disconnected battery and removed the ucon. Started it up and it ran with no miss but was running rich, probably from the trd injectors and no flash. I ran it for a couple min or so to make sure it wouldn't show back up. So I guess I'll be making a phone call here soon. Stupid truck. :hmmmm2:
     
  13. Torspd

    Torspd Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14,814
    Likes Received:
    51
    No reflash and large injectors will definitely make it run rich.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    XR-Underground is a dedicated community of Toyota X-Runner enthusiasts that was launched in January 2007. X-Runner Underground.com, referred to as XRU by our regular members, offers an active discussion forum, group events, specialty merchandise, a welcoming community of owners and the most information you can find about the Toyota X-Runner on the internet!
  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Your donations keep XRU going

    XRU is a forum for the users, by the users. We receive very limited funding from vendors so we really rely on donations to cover our operating costs and to provide products and giveaways at events. Every dollar helps!

    If you are able to donate, we'd really appreciate your help.