Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

OEM and AfterMarket Fuel Pressure Regulator thread

Whitebeauty

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
5,237
Reaction score
0
Man that looks good. Where r u getting your vacumm source from?
 

butters607

Active Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
3,826
Reaction score
0
I tried to get a sticky for the one I started didn't happen for whatever reason
 

Torspd

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14,814
Reaction score
54
Man that looks good. Where r u getting your vacumm source from?

Intake manifold. You must first set the pressure with the gauge, and no vacuum source attached. Once you have the FPR set to the factory fuel pressure, then you attach the vacuum line.
 

Amo-cat3

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
326
Reaction score
1
Is it better to have the fuel pressure gauge in the engine bay for tuning? I would rather have the gauge in the cab. I assume once you set the fpr it shouldn't need any more adjustment unless doing work on the fuel system again?

Since I have the X1 would it make more sense to upgrade my injectors or get an aftermarket FPR and stick with the trd 425 injectors? I don't know what my injector duty cycless are but how much relief on the injectors will the aftermarket fpr with vacuum source give - 5%?
 

Torspd

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14,814
Reaction score
54
Is it better to have the fuel pressure gauge in the engine bay for tuning? I would rather have the gauge in the cab. I assume once you set the fpr it shouldn't need any more adjustment unless doing work on the fuel system again?

Since I have the X1 would it make more sense to upgrade my injectors or get an aftermarket FPR and stick with the trd 425 injectors? I don't know what my injector duty cycless are but how much relief on the injectors will the aftermarket fpr with vacuum source give - 5%?

Toon nor I have a fuel pressure gauge. The ProEFI EMS monitors the fuel pressure from the side port as in my picture.

Since we don't have fuel pressure gauges, we used the little pressure gauge, which Toon posted in his pics earlier, is what we used to set the fuel pressure, back to factory.

You are correct, once you have it set to where you need it, you really don't need to adjust it any more.

Having a gauge in cab is for safety purposes. For most low boost applications that are only using one pump, it isn't all that necessary. However, you cannot replace the knowledge of what is going on. Just like an AFR gauge or boost gauge.

If you were running a dual pump setup, you would be to seriously consider at least a gauge, and or something in your tuning device that monitors it as well.
 

Whitebeauty

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
5,237
Reaction score
0
Heres another....Its the Aeromotive FPR and fuel filter on SouthernmostXr truck.
attachment.php
 

Attachments

  • photo-20120710-210754.jpg
    photo-20120710-210754.jpg
    86.2 KB · Views: 235

Torspd

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14,814
Reaction score
54
Thank you Whitebeauy, but the main reason that I would like Amo-cat3 to take the picture is because he is using the factory FPR. And the routing of hose to that with the trd s/c. That way we will be able to clearly illustrate for future descriptions of "How To."
 

Whitebeauty

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
5,237
Reaction score
0
ok..i just remebered that i had this pic so i just threw it up right quik
 

Amo-cat3

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
326
Reaction score
1
Thank you Whitebeauy, but the main reason that I would like Amo-cat3 to take the picture is because he is using the factory FPR. And the routing of hose to that with the trd s/c. That way we will be able to clearly illustrate for future descriptions of "How To."

Haven't done it yet, should have the vacuum line mod to stock FPR set up next week. Going to finally wire in my A/F wideband, MAP sensor, and vacuum line mod all at the same time.

Will take pics and post on how I do it. I was going to do the full aftermarket FPR set-up, but have been reading up on other engine performance sites and it seems that adding a vacuum source to the stock FPR will suffice for my setup for now. Does the stock FPR have any hp limits?
 
Last edited:

Bulldogger

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
616
Reaction score
0
You have to be careful using adjustable FPR, if you have no way to adjust the ECM for fueling, like on 2009+ trucks. By turning up the fuel pressure you may achieve perfect ARF at WOT but then it can run to rich at idle and non wot conditions.
 

Torspd

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14,814
Reaction score
54
Correct. That is why it is extremely important to set the base fuel pressure, with out a vacuum line attached to the aftermarket FPR, first. Doing so with a gauge. Otherwise, you fuel pressure could be somewhere it isn't supposed to be.
 

Torspd

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14,814
Reaction score
54
Alright, here is the picture of how to run the vacuum line, when doing the OEM FPR MOD.

2012-09-22_17-42-16_822_zps683ff47d.jpg


Thank you dpartinvr4 for the picture. :top:

If you also have a boost gauge, you Tee into that line for the boost gauge.


Here is a link to our vendor DEZOD who also carries fuel pressure regulators, and fuel rail adapters.

http://www.dezod.com/pd-aem-fuel-pressure-regulator-universal.cfm

Support our vendors, and give Paul at Dezod a call if you have more indepth questions. :top:
 

Murderface

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
11,937
Reaction score
2
Had mine set up like the above for XFest......surprised no one noticed it. All I did was plug my intake nipple, reroute the hose over to the boost port and attach it with a T fitting.
 

ToyotaTacoma4Ever

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
614
Reaction score
0
Alright so after reading this forum like 10 times ive still got a question, does the line to the regulator go from:

Return line -> Regulator -> Fuel Rail Adapter Piece

From Toons picture thats what it look like to me? Its that simple Right? lol
 

Murderface

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
11,937
Reaction score
2
Take the line that goes from the fuel pressure regulator to the intake, take it off the intake and put it on the boost port on the blower
 

ToyotaTacoma4Ever

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
614
Reaction score
0
Take the line that goes from the fuel pressure regulator to the intake, take it off the intake and put it on the boost port on the blower

Yes that's a for sure, was making sure if that's the way to regulator was hooked up though, Dezod got me so mixed up when I emailed them about this. It all makes waayy better sense now :top:
 

Whitebeauty

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
5,237
Reaction score
0
He said it should be at ambient pressure not a vacuum. For me as an example. When im under boost it will make the fpr think im a mile below sea level when im really at sea level...
 
Top Bottom