Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Need Some Advice on an Intake

CaliCorks

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm going to be getting an intake for christmas and wanted some advice. I do not want to void my warrenty to start with. My truck is pretty much stock other than I have a flow master exhaust system with 3' pipe. What are my options, and is it going to be worth it? What brand is the best I can get? From what I've read, I think I have to go with a TRD intake, but are they good, or can I get better? Also, my boyfriend has a cold air intake in his car and whenever he washes his car, water gets inside the intake. Are cold air intakes the best way to go?? I do no want to harm my truck in any way. And, do I have to go threw the dealer?? Please help me with any ideas you might have, just keep in mind, I do no want to void my warrenty. Thanks in advance!

5H4D0WD347H

Reaction score
IMO a TRD intake with a MAF calibrator would be your best bet.

The TRD intake doesn't require you to cut sheet metal off your truck or cut into your factory MAF wires like the URD does... For the few extra HP you may get over the TRD intake with the URD. I dont think the modifications to your truck justify/make it worth it.

If you decide to get the TRD supercharger it looks sick with it also! But really you cant go wrong with any intake out there. The gains for every intake (unless its a very poorly designed one) will be relatively close to each other.

The TRD is definitely a great choice though.

Last edited:

Michigan X-Runner

Reaction score
TRD would be the choice of people who are concernd about warrentys.

URD, K&N and others are a good.

TRD had some pretty good gains.

5H4D0WD347H

Reaction score
Really any intake that doesn't require the modification of any wires/metal wont void the warranty. Just make sure you take it off if something happens lol.

XrunnIT

Reaction score