Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Physics Behind Gear vs. Clutch Limited Slip

Reaction score
I am a mechanical engineer and have read every article on the different styles of limited slip differentials but I am still somewhat confused. I have an '09 and I'm trying to decide which differential is for me. Although I'm sure either style (truetrac/gear/torsen or posi-traction/clutch) would be more than sufficient, I want to understand the difference between them. It is my understanding that the gear style is a torque multiplier meaning if one tire is on ice and able to put down no torque, there will be no torque at the wheel with traction. In the same situation with the clutch style, what happens at the wheel with traction?

For the sake of argument...

If I am at part throttle putting 100 ft*lbs to the differential and I was using a 5:1 gear style differential: If I light up one tire on ice or oil, am I to understand the other tire will receive no torque and coast?

If I am at part throttle putting 100ft*lbs to the differential and have a clutch style differential that requires 40 ft/lbs to overcome the clutch pack: If I light up one tire on ice or oil, does the tire with traction get 40 ft*lbs, 60 ft*lbs of torque, or does the preload on the clutch pack locks the wheels together and both wheels get an even split while one tire can put down the torque and one spins helplessly?

I want the limited slip because I tow my race bikes fairly often, I hate lighting up the inside tire, I do not want to get stuck spinning one wheel if it snows, and I want to be able to kick out the rear of the truck out for quick u-turns. I do not mind replacing the clutches periodically if it is the better route. Do I want the truetrac unit, or do I want the posi-traction unit shimmed for more aggressive preload?