Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Proper Amp Tuning

HiTek21

Reaction score
I need some help on how to properly tune amplifiers... I'm a newbie when it comes to audio, I've read several dozen ways of tuning and it's confusing me. Some people say you need a multi meter, some say do it by ear, some say use an oscilloscope, some say to run loud music, others say to use test tones.

I tried the do it by ear method with a 50hz and 1khz test tone at 0dB reference, as well as running pink noise in place of the 1khz test tone.

I flattened out the EQ, turned off the loudness feature, turned the low pass filter on the headunit. I disconnected the sub amp and started working on the mid/highs for the doors. I turn the gains all the way down and turned the high pass filter on.

I ran the 1khz test tone and upped the volume, the DIYs said I would hear some noticable audio distortion at around 3/4 volume but I never reached that point and I was almost at full volume, so I turned it to 3/4 of full volume then begain upping the gains until I was suppose to hear the noticeable audio distortion. I did hear the audio distortion for my rear speakers and set the gains to just a hair below the distortion but the fronts It went almost full gain and it never changed.

My sub amp I tried the by ear method but the gains were going pretty far up and never really reached that point of distortion so i turned them back down. I will probably try it with the multi meter method and use JL's chart for proper voltage readings. I do have access to an oscilloscope but it's at my office.

Anyone have tips on tuning amps?

Mid/High amp is a Alpine PDX 4.100
Front doors are JL C5-650 evolution (75w rms)
Rear doors are MB Quart PVI-216 (70w rms)

Sub is amp is a JL HD750/1 connected to a JL 10w6v2

5H4D0WD347H

Reaction score
there is a lot of fancy ways out there to do it.