Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

So you wanna be a Wrap Star...

elynor_v

Reaction score
Carbon Fiber Vinyl...So you wanna be a Wrap Star...

I am NOT a pro, just big on DIY.

I wanted to share a few things that I learned along the way regarding CFV and Vinyl Stripes.

Here we go...

CFV

1. If you've guesstimated how much CFV you need for your project, double it when you put your order in. It'll save time when you find out you need more for screw ups, plus you'll find other things to wrap along the way, etc.

2. Prep well. I used a tiny bit of dishwashing soap and water to clean the area, and then some window cleaner, alcohol, and water right before I got to stickin'.

3. A hair dryer or heating gun (I got mine from a craft store) is essential. It makes the vinyl easier to work with and gets you around curves and stuff for a clean look. I used an old PetCo card and chop sticks filed down to help with tight spaces or smooth out air bubbles. I didn't need the funky little squeegee they try to sell you.

4. CFV is pretty durable, it stretches nicely with heat. There were a couple of spots where I overdid it with the exacto, but heating it up and stretchin35iOGuMg/s512/cfvg it out fixed that.

DSC09597.JPG

5. On the flip side, CFV is not tear proof. Practice and patience helped me out, but from my mess-ups, I got templates. Win-win. LOL

6. Lay the vinyl over the area you're working on work from the center out. I found it easier to do the cut outs after I covered whatever it was that I was working on. Sharp blade = cleaner cuts. It was easier for me to cut after I heated the vinyl a little bit.
driver%252520side.jpg