Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Too many miles to S/C it?

BearCat11

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am fairly new to XRU and was in need of some advise. I just paid off my 2006 XR which was used as my work truck. (poor thing took alot of abuse over the last 5 years) Now that i have a new truck for work i can spend some money and fix up my X. I was wondering if there would be any issues putting a S/C on a high mileage engine? My truck has 155,000 on it. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!:hmmmm2:

butters607

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am fairly new to XRU and was in need of some advise. I just paid off my 2006 XR which was used as my work truck. (poor thing took alot of abuse over the last 5 years) Now that i have a new truck for work i can spend some money and fix up my X. I was wondering if there would be any issues putting a S/C on a high mileage engine? My truck has 155,000 on it. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!:hmmmm2:

go to autozone do a compression test and if it comes back good then boost away brotha

Venomous_X

Reaction score
hmmm, honestly with that kind of mileage, id think it would be wise to either rebuild or build your motor first before installing any kind of forced induction.... If not you may be ending up down the road a few of us are with messed up motors. :thumpdown:

butters607

Reaction score
If it has been taken care of there shouldn't be any issues motors can last a long time if taken care of properly check the compression on all 6 cylinders and post it in this thread and we can give you a definite answer

BearCat11

Reaction score
go to autozone do a compression test and if it comes back good then boost away brotha
My truck still runs strong but I probably should check the compression. So Auto Zone will do this?
( I wanna be Blown! Not Blown up!) thanks for the advise!

butters607

Reaction score